The Sacraments are visible signs given to us by Jesus Christ, and provided by the Church, in order to experience God‘s closeness. His desire to be given to everyone of us. In celebrating the sacraments, not only do we meet with God, but we experience an interpersonal community, and unity in the Church. That is the celebration of our faith, a taste of eternal life, and an understanding of the mystery of God. Our Christian lives are impossible without active and dilligent acceptance of the sacraments.


The Sacrament of Baptism

Baptism – the foundation of Christian life, the beginning of life with Jesus Christ, the rejection of sin and evil, the door to the Kingdom of God, where we will meet, as members of one loving family.

Baptism is not some magic, by which our child becomes happy and healthy. The godparents, parents, other family members and community, by their Christian example of prayer, must help assure that the gifts that were given during Baptism, would spread, give fruit, and that the person would in fact become happy.

Life, just as Baptism, is a gift from God‘s hands that is irrevocable. Baptism leaves an indelible mark on a person‘s life, and no one can take away the name God‘s child.

The Sacrament of Confirmation

The Sacrament of Confirmation

The Sacrament of Confirmation-the sign of a mature Christian, the conscious step of a baptized individual, who is prepared to live according to the faith of the Catholic Church, strengthened by the Holy Spirit.


The Sacrament of the Eucharist

Eucharist – is the Body and Blood of our Lord Jesus Christ. At the Last Supper, on the evening of his suffering on the Cross, because of his love for his people, and his desire to remain with them always, gave bread-His Body-and to drink from the cup-His Blood. Jesus said to do this in memory of him. This was the beginning of the Eucharist.

Penance and Reconciliation

The Sacrament of Penance and Reconciliation

Penance and Reconciliation is the name of the Church sacrament, by which sins, committed after Baptism, are forgiven. By accepting this sacrament, we are constantly answering God‘s call, „Convert and believe in the Gospel.“

Whoever sins, damages honor and love to God, as well as his own dignity as a person called to be a child of God. The spiritual welfare of the Church is also harmed. The Church teaches that by accepting the sacrament of Penance or Reconcialition, God mercifully forgives transgressions against Him. Through this sacrament, we are the repentant, reconciled with the Church community, which was hurt by our transgressions. The Church, with its love, example and prayers helps us to change.

Christ gave the power to forgive sins to the Apostles and their successors. The Church, with its prayer, life and actions always remains a sign and a tool of forgiveness and change. Priests are the only people granted the power by the Church authorities to forgive sins in the name of Christ. Whoever wants to reconcile with God and the Church, has to confess all serious sins which have not been confessed. That involves preparation, and some deep introspection. The Church recommends confessing even less serious sins. Personal confession and the absolution given is the only way for the faithful to reconcile with God and the Church.


The Sacrament of Matrimony

The Sacrament of Matrimony — this is the union of a man and woman witnessed by God and witnesses of the Church. They vow to love and honor one another for their entire lives, to welcome children, and raise them.

The marriage, which a man and woman create for their entire lives as a joint union, is dedicated to the welfare of the married couple, and for the bearing and raising of children. Essential qualities of the marriage, which need to be known and accepted unconditionally by marrying Christians are: unity and indissolubility. In other words, the union is formed only once, and no human power can dissolve it. God himself said that a marriage of two baptized people can not be broken. „They are no longer two, but are one body. What God has joined, let no man put asunder.“ (Mt 19, 6). In a marriage ,a man and a woman are equal partners, one devoted to the other, serving, and prepared to be open to the gift of life, and to raise any children together.

Holy Orders

The Sacrament of Holy Orders

Holy Orders – the sacrament — a legation of power for the Apostles of Christ, their successors, and chosen ones, to continue in God‘s service. It encompasses three degrees: bishophood, priesthood, and deaconhood.

Anointing of the Sick

The Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick

Anointing of the Sick – is a symbol, through which the Church asks the Lord to strengthen the patient‘s body and soul, and to increase the patient‘s, family‘s and caretaker‘s trust in God‘s will. Also, to bless the suffering and to restore health.